The Malaysian National Cycling Federation president Datuk Abu Samah Wahab NSTP file pic

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) have not set any target for the national team at the Asian road cycling challenge next month.

MNCF president Datuk Abu Samah Wahab said 17 cyclists have been listed alongside 12 officials for the competition in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar.

“The finalised list has been sent to the organisers (on Thursday). We have not set any target, but we hope they get to compete to the best of their ability at Asian level.”

“The entries include those from MNCF and clubs. They applied, and we don’t have any issues agreeing to it. We have merged cyclists from Terengganu, Selangor, Perak, Team Sapura Cycling (TSC) and Junior Cycling Malaysia (JCM),” he said yesterday.

Three TSC riders will be joined by Sea Games time trial gold medallist, Nik Azwan Zulkiflie, who will compete in the elite mass start.

Experienced rider Fauzan Lutfi is listed for the individual time trial aside from Norhasmat Abdul Aziz in the Masters category (40-44-years).

MNCF will also send four female riders, to be led by national cyclist, Nur Aisyah Zubir, in the under-23 category for the mass start as well as individual time trial.

Translated from Berita Harian

251 reads

Related Articles

Most Read Stories by